Last night, Kathryn received the Sacrament of Confirmation.  The ceremony was beautiful. 

As we waited for Mass to begin I tried to adjust the settings on my camera.

And I tried. 

And I tried. 

Not getting the lighting thing down, I thought: “Oh, Well.  I’ll just put all my photos in black and white and post Wednesday on Lisa’s Long Road to China and Back; Black and White Wednesday.

Then I  realized, the red in Bishop Gulielmone’s vestments were too brilliant to put in black and white.  

But, what a minute! There is another problem! Stephen has his eyes closed. Drats! Stupid Stephen!         I had one shot at this last night and we blew it. 

Because these photographs are so important to me,  I did what any good mother would do.


 I cropped Stephen and Liz out of the picture, put a cool frame around it and hope no one will notice Liz’s arm sticking out on the right side of this photo.  

Whatever you do, just don’t look there.  Okay???


I took what I thought was a decent photo of my mom, Mark and the kids. But, there is Stephen again with “the”eyes.   

       
Then of course, I took this one of Deacon Matt slugging my son in the face.  AND I thought. . .Can I use any of these photos for a post about the wonderful thing that happened last night? 

When I learned from Communal Global Photo Bucket is holding our pictures hostage, I felt is was a civic duty to post and link up to them

So here I am:  helping out my fellow blogging Sistas at Communal Global, confessing all my photograph sorrows,  and posting about the wonders of the evening.
8 thoughts on “Civic Duty, Confirmation & a Few Confessions

  1. Poor Stephen. Poor Liz. Cropped right out.Beautiful pictures of a wonderful event.My hubby, who is quite fascinated with all things Catholic, even though we are protestants, tells me that the bird cardinal was named after the red of a Cardinal's robe and not vice versa.

    Like

  2. You're funny. Love the photos, even the one where eyes were closed. 😉 At least you captured these precious moments in time. Someday, you'll smile as you reminisce.Thank you for linking up with us at Communal Global. 🙂

    Like

  3. I don't think our bishop attends all Confirmation here. How special for Kathryn. 🙂 LOL, you are funny! Poor Stephen… and thank you for linking up with Communal Global to help "free" our photos. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

