Last week was a tough week for me when it comes to photography.   Remember, I told you I am taking this photography class.  

Well,

the assignment last week was anything  motion.  

sliding into the pool

 Sounds simple right?

Wrong!

I didn’t understand how to not only bump up my shutter speed . . . I didn’t know what shutter speed really meant.  I mean,  I understood shutter speed was the thing that opened and closed the lens but,  I couldn’t figure out how to get my camera there.  

I didn’t understand the exposure triangle and how together,  the Aperture, Shutter, and ISO balance each other out so the meter reads “0” or Even. 

It’s hard stuff! 

swimming

I really felt like I was underwater the whole week. 

the flip

I couldn’t focus on anything else but getting this exposure triangle thing down. When I finally came up for air –  teacher Lisa said ” Your focus is off here. ”  

Ugh! 

Since I’m persistent and a really strong swimmer:  I kept on working it, and you know what?

 . . . I got it!  

I’ll show you some of those photos tomorrow. Now I have to  do the laundry, and let’s not talk about the dishes in the sink that have been piling up all week. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

52 Weeks of Happiness | Tuesday Around the World |  Our world Tuesday

10 thoughts on “Figuring things out. . .

  1. Don’t be so hard on yourself. I think you’re doing a great job from what I see. The best way that I was able to memorize the exposure triangle was thinking of it like our “eyes”. That’s right–our eyes on our face. Read below:

    (a) ISO–(Is the Sun Out {ISO})<–that's just a funny way for me to ask myself if I there's enough light wherever I'm photographing. If there's not a lot of light than I have a high ISO. If there's plenty of light, not much ISO needed.

    (b) Aperture–(think of your eyes) try opening your eyes wide open and think about the amount of light coming in. When your eyes are wide open (f 1.4, 1.8, 2.0 etc.) a lot of light comes in than when if you were to squint (f 4.0, etc.). Just remember the more wider your "eyes" are, the blurrier your backgrounds will be than if you were to squint. Haha. When you "squint" everything is clear. {the wider the aperture–the lower the f stop #}

    (c) Shutter Speed–(think of your eye blinking) So think in camera terms, when you blink really fast your catching your objects really clearly (1/1000, 1/1200, 1/1600 etc.) than if you were to blink really S-L-O-W (1/50, 1/80, etc.) Just remember slow "blinking" allows for blur. Here's a question to think about: which one do you think is allowing more light in, blinking fast or blinking S-L-O-W? ANSWER: the slower shutter speed. However that can be trick question if you remember that you can also control the amount of light in a picture by the aperture. For example, if I'm at a sports game and want to catch the children running I will have to "blink" really fast to get the child clear/not blurry. Uh-oh! I'm going to have to use a higher shutter speed which can effect the amount of light. NOT TO WORRY-LETS ADJUST OUR "EYES"/ APERTURE. So you would open your eye's wide to allow for more light (smaller f stop.)

    That's basically the jist of it. There are other factors that will come into play but those are the basics that we all should know. I hope I haven't confused you. I'm sorry if I have. 😦 I only want to help. We can video chat if you'd like for me to explain some more in person rather than typing.

    Sincerely,
    your fellow photog friend!!

    Like

    1. Erica, This makes so much sense! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this. I know it took you a while. You’re just the BEST!!!! and to think you would take the time to video chat with me. WOW!!!! I would love to. Of course I this computer I have is old and does not have that capacity. 😦 I would have to wait until my son was around to use is phone. The kids have all the cool stuff – the mom – not so much. I have read this over and over again. You helped me so much. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!!!

      I hope you and your husband are doing well.

      Much Love!

      Like

      1. Yay!!! I’m so glad I didn’t confuse you! I only wanted to help and show you the little techniques that have helped me a long the way. Haha If you can imagine a girl like me making faces as she’s photographing people. “Eyes wide open. Eyes squinting. Blinking fast and s-l-o-w.” People must of thought that I was crazy looking at me I’m a visual learner and like to learn with tangible things. Haha

        All in all, I think you’re doing a great job! Keep up the good work! And remember eyes wide open allows for more light as well as blinking slow. Haha

        Have a blessed day!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

