It’s day 10 of my Lent journey and I find myself counting my blessings over and over in my mind. Yesterday was a difficult day us . . .not because of the accident but because of the Doctors appointment. Like I said yesterday, the kids are all really fine. . . Kathryn got a little banged up but, really they seem to be okay.

And so here is were I hesitated to tell you what’s really on my mind because if you know me, you know I keep things close. I put things in my hip pocket and carry them around with me until I resolve them in my mind. . .  and then I will  tell you – some of what is gone on in my life. Why do I do this – I don’t know. I just do. But, I read today in times of trouble you need to ask for prayers and since this is a lent journey – what better time is there then this to ask?  

My dear husband is sick with heart failure. At this time things have grown seriously worse, and so in a simple way I’m asking you to pray for  him. . . for us. 

Here is a little something I read today that made me smile and say Yeah we need this today.

Hard times are prayer times. Good times are prayer times. Pray always (Lk 18:1)

For some reason, I need to be reminded of this over and over again.

Liz's new bag

and I’m so grateful to have this journal and this network of friends that I have slowly developed. I look back on my day yesterday and think even though the day was long. . . I have so many reasons to count my blessing. I was wrong when I said to my mother I would have to really stretch my list of 10 for today.

1.) I am grateful for the great doctors that are taking care of my husband.

2.) again, I am so very grateful my son, daughter and nephew were okay in the car accident.

3.) I’m grateful to my mother for her constant support.

4.) I’m grateful our little Liz has  the “Best Nana Ever” to whisk her away when hearts are heavy and kids are recovering from . . . bumps in the road. 😉

5.) I’m grateful to these kids who are worried about there friends dad.

6.) I am grateful for my husband who still works everyday. He doesn’t give up. He is such an inspiration to me.

7.) I am grateful for the prayers we have received.

8.) I am grateful for the medications my husband takes . . . today he tells me he can breath. Yay!!!

9.) I’m grateful he can breath!

10.) I am grateful I can count my blessings. It’s going to be a beautiful day.

The Long Road to China

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m playing this beautiful Lenten game with a few friends:  one off line and one friend from Faith Hope and Cherrytea  – Some of us are keeping a list of  the things  we are grateful for and  posting a photograph. Some of us are just posting a photograph  or maybe posting a full post. . .  for 40 days. It seems to be an easy task.  As I do with many of my thoughts and treasures I think I’ll keep my list here. And, since I haven’t picked up my camera in weeks I want to post a new photo each day with that list.  Please play along – it’s a good thing.

11 thoughts on “Day 10. . . the Lent Journey

  1. I’m so glad everyone was OK in the accident. I’m praying for your husband. Finding the things to be thankful for in stressful situations works to ease my mind. Praying for you, too.

    Like

  2. You are in our thoughts and prayers. I got to know Mark when he did so much work for us at riverbend. The gratitude list is very inspirational and I look forward to reading it. Thinking of you, Auntie

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

  3. oh honey, I’ve been so lost in the world of sleep and the twilight zone I missed your post about the accident, I’m so grateful everyone is ok…BUT my heart is saddened about the news of hubby..I’m truly at a loss to find the right words..Hubby, you and your family are in my heart and prayers that doctors can fix his heart or at least make it much much better….BLESS YOU ALL.

    Like

  4. Thank you for being brave. You inspire me & probably many others too.

    I LOVE that you shared Luke 18:1. I’ve heard it said ‘so well’ for many years that when we share our troubles, it allows people to love us more. Prayer changes everything and I promise to pray for you & yours. I’m sure you’ve heard it said that God doesn’t give us more that we can handle…He must trust both of us a lot.

    So happy the kids are OK!! Enjoy your day & thank you for your inspiration. God brings people together to lift one another up. I hope you will do something really special today for yourself & loved ones. Memories are priceless and time is such a gift.

    Love in Christ,
    Patty

    Like

    1. Wow! Patty! Thank you! I am so glad to meet you and so grateful for your prayers. Thank so much! your so right – we need to lift each other up. I”m so glad you stopped by here.

      Like

Leave a Reply

