I know, it’s been a long time. . .   a lot has happened since I wrote to you last. 

Long story short for tonight: 

heart b

My fisherman husband had a heart transplant August 30th. 

We couldn’t believe it!

In fact, I was still waiting for the doctors over at Emory to put him on the transplant  list, and before we knew it – the fisherman was not only listed, he was in surgery – 

FOR A HEART TRANSPLANT! 

and I couldn’t believe it was real

and I held my breath until it was over 

and

in fact . . . I’m encouraged by our doctors to keep holding my breath

so I do. 

and

There is so much to tell you . . . but, you know the rules of blogging. 

1.) When there is time to post, there is nothing to say. 2.) when there is everything to say, there is no time to post.

For now, I know you will forgive me when I say:   I just wanted to give you an update on how he was . . . on how he is. 

and the word is 

He IS Good! 

Thank God! 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1001 Gifts:

257.) for now and forever I’ll always be grateful to our donor family. What courage they have. We will pray for them forever.

258.) the many loving friends I have met along this journey

259.) the love we have been embraced with these past few months

258.) our kids . . . oh my goodness – they are amazing

259.) my friend who flew our oldest son home to be at the hospital with us the day of the transplant – oh! my goodness – ” this simple act” as she says, it still brings me to tears.

260.) of course my mother . . . always my mother  & my sister who came rushing to be at my side to wait

261.) my friend, my neighbor, my BFF came rushing too . . . the love was is simply amazing

Much love to you, Lisa 

14 thoughts on “August 30, 2014

  1. I can’t tell you how happy this news makes me for you and your family
    I too apologize for not keeping in touch with you and your amazing fishermen, I too are going through stuff.

    I fully understand the things that must have been going through your mind when you were first told your Dear Fisherman needed a heart transplant. Oh my goodness to be called for a transplant before being put on the list, it makes my heart and soul sing honey

    Like

    1. Thank you Juniemarie, Yes, it is such happy news. I’m so sorry your going through tough times too. We can stick together and come out better on the other side. I tried to visit your blog today but, couldn’t find it. I hope your doing well.

      Lisa

      Like

  2. Such a relief – may he continue to heal. We have friends whose 5 year old daughter was put on a transplant list in June – she received her heart 2 weeks ago and is now recuperating at home. Donation is a powerful gift so another’s life can continue.

    Like

Leave a Reply

