I dropped into a consignment store one day when I was “helping” my fisherman husband rebuild a fishing pier for a customer of ours.  

and I found a lovely, blue velvet dress for six dollars.  . . and then I noticed a blue hat for two. My heart sang when I realized the dress was a perfect fit for the girl who loves music.  It’s been so long since I have photographed her. 

AND THAT HAT! Oh! my goodness that hat! 

Only as teenage daughters can . . . she tried to burst my bubble. She told me, “velvet was out.” “And a hat! That just wouldn’t work for her.  She said, “I was out of touch.”  “I needed to get with it.” She couldn’t believe I would ask her to wear such a thing. 

I gently explained to this girl who loves music. . . my photographing her . . . had nothing to do with her.  A mother wants images of her 18 year old daughter.  The hat, the dress, the necklace. . . I knew what I was doing and if she let herself . . . she would have a great time. 

And we would have amazing images. 

Like a girl who loves her mother . . . she gave in. 

Kathryn 3Kathryn 3 B Logo

and she rocked our photo session. 

In the end . . . She said, “Wow Mom! You really know what you’re doing.” “That was so much fun!” “and this dress is so comfortable I don’t want to take it off.”   

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

1001 Gifts:

574.) time spent with the girl who loves music.

575.) dinner out just the two of us

576.) Fall

577.) good school days

578.) healing for Charming

579.) great achievements for the philosopher

580.) work

581.) clean house

582.) fresh sheets

583.) fresh towels

584.) feeling like we may have hit a new normal. . . maybe

3 thoughts on “and that hat!

  1. Ohhhhh, WOW!! You have a wonderful eye and sense of what will work, Lisa. You have developed so much in such a short time – one day I will buy your coffee table books and tell folks that, “I knew her when . . . .”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

