Some days I look in and see business as usual.

2016-01-26 20.34.41

It’s been a month now since the new year & the accident. . . and on January 31 at 11:59 I was up with this girl and realized February 1 was seconds away,  I sang to her parts of that song of the new year.

Should old acquaintance be forgot
And never brought to mind

and said, “Happy New Year Baby”  

“yeah, we needed a total redo on that one.”  we both said at the same time 

She gave me that half smile and said, “Yeah.”

there is something serial about being in ICU with your child hanging on to dear life, hearing: the count down, New Year song, friendly well wishes for the year to come, all in the background, popping champagne.  Holding her hand, whispering, “you made it baby. . . 2015 was a good year because, you made it.”   Thank God 

and so now here we are a month later home and recovering.

Thank God

and here is the news on our girl . . .this girl everyone took on as their own.

She is showering by herself these days. . . a total big deal. The mouth, the lazy eye: all slowly turning up ward, showing signs of improvement each passing day.

the neck brace

gone.

She still walks with a cane . . . Aunt Joan’s cane

IMG_20160203_081756

who died yesterday because of cancer.

We will miss everything about that wonderful aunt who wore my father’s face and loved so deeply.

Rest in Peace Aunt Joanie . . . rest in peace.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Gifts

tears for someone lost. . . means we love so deeply

listening to rain beating down hard while we are tucked safe inside

recovery

meals being brought with love

good coffee in early morning

even though the rain means no work & the self employed must readjust . . . I like him home spending time

a safe trip & return to Atlanta for the philosopher and fisherman

a good biopsy report to check and recheck the heart

people who love. . .  always praying for this girl

 

6 thoughts on “a month now

  1. So wonderful to receive your posts and hear the good news. I am continuing to pray for your daughter whom I learned about through my cousins lovely daughter, Cecilia. Seems she and your daughter are friends. It is a small world at times, thank God he is in and over all. I’m so sorry for the loss of your aunt, I pray God will comfort your hearts there as well. Thank you for the posts, they are encouraging and I know for me life changing. When we pour out hearts in prayer for others God does something in us as well…He makes us more like Jesus. So really you give us that opportunity. May the Lord continue to bless and keep your family in His tender loving care.

    In Christs love Liz

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Liz.
      Cecilia is such a blessing to us. I’m so very grateful she is best friend to my girl. Your cousins family are all very dear to us. WE LOVE THEM SO MUCH!

      So here is something crazy and I think you’ll be very interested in: Bishop Guglielmone came to our house yesterday to see our girl I told him about all the prayers and then he said almost the same thing your saying right now. ” When we pour out hearts in prayer for others God does something in us as well…He makes us more like Jesus” so WOW! I’m in awe again. Thank you! Much love!

      Like

  2. Oh, wow, Lisa! We’re still praying for Kathryn to come all the way back, and we knew that recovery at home, where she could move (or not) among her closest loved ones would be best for her. And so glad that was right! Thank you, Lord!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Jere! You always know the right thing to say. Thank you!!! Everyday she is doing well. She doesn’t see it like we do but, she is. Thank you for continuing to lift her. Much love my friend.

      Like

Leave a comment