It’s the second Sunday of Lent and we just dropped Matthew off at the airport. Spring Break is over for him and he is headed back to school. I’m so glad he likes school. He works so hard. It is hard not to be proud of this son of ours. I think back on the past 21 years of Matthew’s life and sometimes I can’t believe I’m his mother. As silly as it sounds, I can’t believe I am old enough to have a son that is 21 years old already.

Gee, it’s true – time flies right by. 

As we start a new week, I’m hoping and praying it will be a quite week. With all the things that have happened and with the future so unknown right now I can say, I am so very grateful for the way my family is progressing. Mark and I have worked hard to keep this little family of ours together. Someone told me the other day Mark and I are June and Ward Cleaver of yesteryear, and it made me laugh. I bet she was better with keeping up with the laundry then I am. Ugh! I hate that job! and don’t even talk to me about the dishes in the sink.

Pear Blossoms

and this is were my reading lead me today

“stand firm and hold to the traditions which you were taught by us, either by word of mouth or by letter” 2 Thess. 2:15

1.) I am grateful Matthew gets to go back to school and he studies so hard.

2.) I am grateful Matthew knows good grades do not come easy to anyone.

3.) I am grateful Matthew knows his calling in life and wants to graduate as a Philosopher. How many people know the answer to the question ” What do I want to do with my life?”

4.) I am grateful he has Micaela in his life. It’s hard for him to go back to school right now knowing his father is so sick. Micaela is such a wonderful and loving girl.

5.) I am grateful Matthew and Mark spent the day together yesterday. They went fishing. Good medicine for the soul.

6.) I am grateful Matthew calls us everyday to check in. I know it’s not normal that a college student would call his parents everyday to talk. He’s worried about us, and .  .  . we are worried about him worrying about us. 🙂

7.) I am grateful that in spite of the crazy week everyone gets along and Matthew’s brother and sisters will miss him.

8.) I am grateful Matthew will be home in four weeks for Easter.

9.) I am so very grateful I have been home with all my children from the time they were born.

10.) I am grateful for the soft rain on this rainy Sunday.  What better day to catch up on all the things I have to do?

Have a great Sunday Y’all!

Join us we in our link up for the 40 days of Lent and stay focused on the positive: You can do this with a list of: the things you are grateful for, a photograph that makes your heart sing or a post. Keep it positive and loving and let’s support each other as we walk through the 40 days of lent and life.  Faith Hope and Cherrytea

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

3 thoughts on “Lent Day 12 . . . back to school

  1. Beautiful post, Lisa!
    grateful to be travelling with you on this Lenten pilgrimage…
    and every blessing as we begin this new week together =)

    I value all the lovely new companions adding their links for us to check out and share their thoughts.
    Have discovered a number of them each day at FHC

    Like

  2. «Louis» will try to get “up to speed” with your Lenten posts by Wednesday. He thinks this is a great idea and wants to participate.

    Like

Leave a comment